Call for Nominations for the 2019 Jean Marie Dubois Award

The Jean Marie Dubois Award was established to recognize important, sustained research on any aspect of quasicrystals within the 10-year period preceding the award. The award will consist of a cash prize and a plaque. The Award is made possible by an endowment administered by the Iowa State University Alumni Foundation. Prior recipients were:

Recipient Conference
Professor An-Pang Tsai
of Tohoku University, Japan
ICQ9, May 2005
Professor Walter Steurer
of the ETH-Zürich, Switzerland
ICQ10, July 2008
Professor Marc de Boissieu
of Grenoble University and the CNRS, France
ICQ11, June 2010
Professor Ron Lifshitz
of Tel Aviv University, Israel
– and –
Professor Yasushi Ishii
of Chuo University, Japan
ICQ12, Sep. 2013
Professor Marek Mihalkovič
of the Slovak Academy of Sciences, Slovakia
ICQ13, Sep. 2016

The next Award will be given at ICQ14 in Kranjska Gora, Slovenia in May 2019.

At or before each ICQ, the recipient(s) will be decided by the International Advisory Board that is in place at the time of the ICQ, excluding those Board members who may be nominees or nominators, and also excluding the Award Secretary. The Award Secretary, who will handle the paperwork and other details, is Patricia A. Thiel of the Ames Laboratory, Iowa State University, USA. Contact her at: or +1-515-294-8985.

The deadline for nominations is the end of the day on Sunday, 6 January 2019. Each nomination must be organized by one person, designated as the nominator. Self-nominations are not acceptable. The nominator has the responsibility to gather and submit the following:
• a curriculum vitae of the nominee (which should include a list of scientific publications);
• a nominating letter written by the nominator; and
• up to three supporting letters, written by persons different than the nominator and the nominee.
The nominator should submit all of these documents at one time to Only electronic submissions will be accepted. Unsuccessful nominations will be reconsidered automatically in one following Award cycle.

The Award may be shared by more than one scientist, if each has made significant contributions to a single major topic. Multiple recipients can be nominated simultaneously in a single package.